Stolen Potential

Posted on August 29, 2008

1


He stole every ounce of potential from me. He stole my self worth. He stole my sense of security. In essence he killed me. He made me feel as though I am not worthy of anything. He caused such pain and hardship in mine and mom’s relationship, all so that he could molest me.

I have carried the shame abuse with me every day of my life. I have kept it hidden because I didn’t want it to bring shame or guilt to the rest of the family. I hid it to protect my family. I never hid it to protect him. Now, I don’t have to hide it any longer. The shame is where it belongs, on him.

Sexual abuse caused so much pain and a horror that will affect me the rest of my life. All the therapy in the world cannot change what has been done. The only thing therapy will do is help me cope with it, and help me to learn to live my life, in spite of the abuse. I am slowly finding my potential, self-esteem, self-love and self worth by breaking my silence.

I will continue to tell people if I can help others to speak out against too. I will be silent no more! I will no longer be shackled to that secret; its out for all to know and that feels so good! I no longer want to give him the satisfaction of robbing me of happiness!

Posted in: Childhood